Garden Update

Garden Update

P1030140Spring is feeling decidedly like summer already, and with fresh plums on my counter it is tasting like it too. Plums are my absolute favorite summer fruit. There’s just something about them that tastes like sunshine and swimming and lazy days.

Today I went out to the side yard where our Santa Rosa Plum is and found TONS of plums scattered on the ground. It looked like maybe something (probably a darn squirrel) jumped through the branches and unleashed the fruit. I’m leaving for Southern California tomorrow and the hubs won’t know what to do with them, so I’ll have to figure out how to store them till I get home. Leave no fresh plum behind!P1030133

In other garden news, the Sungolds are picking up steam and are the first to ripen! Even over the Early Girls (those slackers). The Brandywine is the saddest looking tomato in my bunch. Maybe it’s a slow mover and will pick up steam soon?IMG_20150624_101937188

IMG_20150624_101843837_HDRMy bell peppers do not seem to be particularly happy. They’ve got lots of flowers, but just seem kind of small and sad in general. This one has had the same size fruit for a few weeks now.IMG_20150624_101908231 IMG_20150624_101923608The cucumber is happily spreading and it looks like the tiny cukes are finally starting to ripen. I was worried for a while that it wasn’t producing any male flowers because some of the fruits were shriveling up, but I think that’s turned a corner.IMG_20150624_101950416I let a few artichokes flower so I could enjoy their fluorescent show and the bees can’t seem to get enough of them. It’s fun to peek out the dining room window while I eat lunch and see them busy at work.

The rhubarb is still going crazy, so I decided to harvest some to bring to my family, and then promptly went about storing it the wrong way. Turns out that after harvesting you’re not supposed to wash it–just wrap it tightly in saran wrap and stick it in the fridge. I put the stalks in water and then rinsed and wrapped in a paper towel. I have since corrected my mistake. Oh well, sometimes this is just how you learn things, and so far I don’t think there’s been any harm done.P1030143Other than that things are going well. I’m heading to SoCal for my baby shower and the men are staying here to do home improvement projects (YES!). They’ve got a freshly baked coffee cake to bribe them sustain them and some homemade enchiladas to go with a plethora of beer. I think they’ll survive.

Happy Digging,
signofflogo

Leave a Reply

