Garden Update

Getting Ready for Summer’s Bounty

After having a week of sunshine with weather in the upper 70s to 80s, beautiful Sonoma County is back to the early spring gloom.

At least the overcast atmosphere is keeping me inside with my nose to the gardening book grindstone. I’m busy coming up with a plan for what to plant in my garden boxes this spring– something I’ve never actively laid out before (for shame). More to come on this soon, but for now, here’s my progress so far.

P1020909
Here’s the side yard. It’s looking a little overgrown with it’s zest for Spring sunshine.

Last weekend I enlisted the help of my trusty partner “the hubs” to get my garden beds in order for spring planting. Something I should have done months ago.

When we moved into our house, the previous owners had already built four 8’x3′ garden boxes on the side of the house, complete with a few perennial vegetable plantings.

Artichokes, rhubarb, and strawberries. Oh my!

However, after a couple of years of neglect they were definitely in need of a boost. So we went to town spreading lots of rich compost over the beds and working it into the soil (I say we but who are we kidding? I put the hubs to work.). While he took care of that, I transplanted some herbs and miscellaneous plants to other pots and areas of the yard, and then we both sat back and admired our handiwork.

P1020898
Yum.

We ended up using about 2 bags (at 1.5 cubic feet each) of compost per bed in order to get a 1/2″-1″ layer incorporated. Now we’ll let the compost season the soil for a week or two and then get down to the business of planting.

My goals for the garden this year are to

  • Plant with a purpose,
  • Water more,
  • Eat or store everything,
  • Be a mindful gardener (consider plant families and crop rotation),
  • Improve the irrigation system,
  • Build more beds,
  • Plant more fruit,
  • Create a “real” compost pile, and
  • Sit in the sun and enjoy a job well done.
One bed is looking almost ready for planting!

Do you have any gardening goals for this year? I’d love to chat! Maybe even expand on this list. : )

Happy Digging,

signofflogo

Leave a Reply

